The Art of the Mix CD

Standard

I like making mix CDs for my friends, especially if they are long-distance people I don’t see very often. A mix CD gives you a chance to share what you’re listening to at the moment and they’re not too expensive to make or to mail =:-)

What you’ll need:

  • CDs – They’re super cheap per CD if you just buy them in a multi-pack of 50 or 100. You can get them as a CD-R (recordable, can only burn once) or CD-RW (re-writable, can change the contents as much as you want. Kinda like a flash drive). I like CD-R because they’re cheaper and then they won’t accidentally get over-written.
  • CD cases – You can buy CD cases in bulk or just reuse ones you may have lying around the house. You can also make your own just using paper and fashioning it into an envelope to hold the CD.
  • Paper, pens, glue, scissors, old magazines, etc to decorate your CD cover
  • A template for liner notes (optional)

So, I actually did the decorating first. I knew what I wanted my CDs to be about, so I went through some old magazines and found some happy people and cool backgrounds I wanted on my covers. I cut regular pieces of paper to serve as the base for the cover and liner notes (just cut a 10″x5″ piece of paper and fold it in half so it’s 5″x5″). Then, I just glued on the pieces and finally used modgepodge (a paint-on glue) to go over the whole thing so there weren’t corners of paper poking out to get caught on the case.

Then, I went ahead and finalized the songs I wanted to use and burned the CDs (I used iTunes). I searched online for an Open Office CD insert template since I didn’t want to bother measuring and such. I entered in my songs, wrote some notes about why I put each song on the CD, printed it out, cut it out, and glued it to the inside of the cover.

Finally, I found some old paper CD cases from old software programs that I no longer use and used them as the CD cases.

Now I just slip them in envelopes or wrap them in paper and it’s off to the post office!

Thanks,

Stephan

About onetruemango

Welcome to my blog! I have fun making arts and crafts for friends, family, and strangers. Check out my online shop at onetruemango.etsy.com! I like having tea and writing letters and making things and going on Adventures. I currently live at Juniper Hill Farms as a wwoofer (farm volunteer). Thanks so much for reading! -Rachel

Leave a Reply

