Feltstravaganza! Or, Why I Haven’t Posted in Forever

Standard

Oh my goodness gracious I am so into feltmaking I can hardly breathe. Which is why I didn’t update the blog, oops- sorry. Merino in a million colors, where have you been all my life ?! I want a ROOM for this. My loom can come too. Here are my most recent projects:

Ornaments- I have sent lots to WomanKraft gallery and some have sold! I also have some mirrors and macrame bags there- if you’re in Tucson come check it out. There’s tons of local artists in the current show, all the work there is under $100 for holiday shoppers. I also donated a couple to Bicas for their art auction. Needle-felted mushrooms. Awww. I think I’ll teach this one as a beach craft this year. My family and two other families get together every year for a weekend at the beach and it is absolutely the best time of year. We always do lots of crafts together. Soaps! These smell as good as they look. I handmade the soaps before I felted them and they’re scented with essential oils. Steph says “I didn’t understand felted soap and then I used one and now I want all my soap to be felted!” It’s like a soap and washcloth in one and it keeps things very neat- no soap slime mess getting on your sink or tub. And Nuno Felting! This is the result of my wonderful class with Krystal Greene at Grandma’s Spinning Wheel. I love it! it is wool fibers mingled with silk, and metallic fiber accents. I must learn silk dying like YESTERDAY so I can dye my own silks and make everything in the world. Here’s me modeling and making a goofy face.

 

I am just getting started. There is so much more you can do with this stuff. Check out the gorgeous elfy clothing made by Feuer Und Wasser on etsy– the colors and detail are amazing.

 

Next week I’m doing a Holiday Shopping post with links to lots of fun stuff my art buddies have been making. If you want to be included let me know soon please!

See you later alligators.

About onetruemango

Welcome to my blog! I have fun making arts and crafts for friends, family, and strangers. Check out my online shop at onetruemango.etsy.com! I like having tea and writing letters and making things and going on Adventures. I currently live at Juniper Hill Farms as a wwoofer (farm volunteer). Thanks so much for reading! -Rachel

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

